Tags

, , , , , , ,

Here I was at the gym thanking my muscles for remembering they used to be amazing and lean and that they were working so well after such a time away. I was thinking of muscle memory and it got me thinking…is that right? Is that all it is?

It’s as if something outside of my control, a memory in my body, recalls something I did long ago and re-conforms to that previous pattern, output, or state. If our cells are constantly renewing themselves and within seven years our entire body has new cells, just where is this memory retained?

Hmm. I have to admit I was a bit stumped at that.

I started to question that muscle memory was all that was happening.

What if there was something else at work here? My workouts were becoming surprisingly easier after just a short time at the gym. My heart rate is as low as it used to be when I considered myself in shape when I pushed the workout. My legs automatically ran the bike at the old speed as well. Why was I progressing so quickly?

Granted I was eating perfectly (for my body) and getting tons of rest, but I didn’t think that could, by itself, be responsible for the gains I was seeing. Then a thought started to come to me. What if our belief in muscle memory has something to do with it. What does it mean to believe in something outside ourself? Whether it be muscle memory or something else?

Could it be that our belief in an innate state of our body, one that is seemingly outside our mental control, is what contributes to a hyper acceleration of gains, no matter what we are doing: playing sports or an instrument, competing, speaking in public, and so on?

Can belief in our own self, whether we rationalize it from the chemical make-up of our cells and their memory, or the genetic ability of how we were born, or the hereditary genes of generations of performers, be the key to unlocking a potential so vast and untapped in many of us?

Simply put, is our belief in our ability actually more of a determinant in our actual ability than genes, genetics, or previous history, or any other determinant? Or even just as meaningful a factor? If you believe that you are, not just that you can, or that you will be, but that you ARE inherently amazing at something, will you be?

Dr. Joe Dispenza firmly believes in this hypothesis that if you picture yourself as already attaining that which you desire, and really feeling with al your senses that you already have it, it will come to you. He calls this the Quantum Law and here is a snippet about how the way we think attributes to the way we progress. This is a very similar concept. Our belief in an aspect of our self can be looked at as very similar to a sense of gratitude that it exists within us.

He isn’t the only one to see the magic of the universe that way.

When I adjusted my thought about my muscles and their ‘memory’, what I was really doing was believing that my body, regardless of how I felt or thought, had the ability to be amazing. I believed that all I had to do was show up at the gym and my previous state would show up.

In other words, I had complete faith that my body would become what it once was if I simply put in the time, and it would somehow manifest. I had complete faith in the process, built on the belief that my body had muscle memory. I was empowering my unfettered ability to be anything I desired.

Whoa. That’s pretty cool.

I say unfettered because when we simply rest within our mind cognitive abilities, we can dismiss the power of the subconscious.

That’s an edge over a competitor. That’s a step forward in a timeline, a special place we tap into to bring forth what we truly desire. I’m not just talking about going to the gym here. Think about it. Dwell here a moment.

Let’s dissect that a bit. I believed something that is not tangible to me. I can’t hold it or touch it or even see it, but I believed it nonetheless. Why would I do such a thing? There are many reasons we believe something, but for me I was likely told this by someone I admired, or trusted, or expressed some type of authoritative view to me. Or maybe it has been experienced by so many people who also believe in this phenomena that it is a popular conception.

Belief in the intangible. Belief in an ability we believe we possess. Now, this isn’t like flying, it is simply an enhancement of current abilities or the learning curve let’s say.

I wonder, if we can extrapolate this to anything, if we could envision ourselves actually being good at something we are not presently comfortable with, if it would be significant.

As I write this visions of elite athletes come to mind, but they envision perfection. What about public speakers? Perhaps we could believe we embody a calm nature, a clear mind so that everything we desire to say springs forth. Wouldn’t that be nice!

This concept is not large is stature, but it is intrinsically significant in acknowledging the slight difference between belief in what we are capable of and what we attribute to external factors. I’d like to think then that no matter who you are, no matter what your ‘muscle memory’ for any task, that if you 1) envision yourself having that ability, and 2) believe that you already have it, right now, it can accelerate your potential beyond your past experiences.

This is more than just picturing it. You have to believe it with all your mind and body. Embody the presence of it so that it simply is a part of you. I bet if we all practiced this before our feet hit the floor in the morning there would be some pretty empowered people out there!

Let’s acknowledge the power within our self to be what we desire. After all, if we are the accumulation of thoughts (script) and feelings (behaviours), let’s starting acting the part.

What do you believe?

I challenge anyone reading this to do this for one week and document the noticeable acceleration in gains, no matter what they are pursuing, toward a goal they are actively pursuing or even putting their attention to. Please let me know if this works for you.

